People

THEIS HYPERPOLARIZATION LAB FEATURING:

 

 

PI:

 

Thomas Theis, PhD  (UC Berkeley)
Assistant Professor of Chemistry (NC State)
and Adjunct of NC State Physics and
UNC & NC State Biomedical Engineering
Curriculum Vitae
pronunciation of Theis: “Tice”

Postdocs:

Dr. rer. nat. Sören Lehmkuhlslehmku@ncsu.edu

Dr. Lehmkuhl received his PhD from RWTH Aachen University working on unconventional NMR experiments and hyperpolarization technology. He joined the Theis lab in 2019 and develops parahydrogen based NMR technologies and their applications, ranging from miniaturized NMR to in vivo  hyperpolarized MRI.

 

Christopher Parish, PhDcrparish@ncsu.edu

Dr. Parish acquired his PhD from The University of Texas at Dallas where he helped elucidate fundamental physics underlying dynamic nuclear polarization. He joined the Theis lab in the fall of 2019. He is primarily interested in aiding in the development of low-cost NMR and MRI systems. Additional interests lie in studying cancer and the immune system via in vivo hyperpolarization.

Graduate Students:

Patrick TomHonpmtomhon@ncsu.edu

Patrick graduated from the University of Richmond with a B.S. in chemistry and a B.A. in international studies, concentrating in international economics.  He started work with the Theis lab in fall 2018 and is interested in development of spin dynamics and engineering methodologies for the application of SABRE parahydrogen-based hyperpolarization in MRI and zero-field NMR systems.
www.linkedin.com/in/pmtomhon

 

Iuliia Mandzhievaimandzh@ncsu.edu

Iuliia graduated from Lomonosov Moscow State University with a M.S. in Physics. She started working in the Theis lab in the spring of 2020 and  is interested in Overhauser-Enhanced MRI and Dynamic Nuclear Polarization with Photo-Excited Triplet States.

Adam Ortmeierortmeier@ncsu.edu

Adam graduated from Concordia College in Moorhead, MN with a B.S. in chemistry and a B.A in mathematics. He started working in the Theis lab in the fall of 2019. His interests reside in the theory of spin dynamics as well as optical experimentation to detect hyperpolarized NMR.

Austin Browningabrowni2@ncsu.edu

Austin graduated from the University of Appalachian State with a B.S. in chemistry and a minor in Biology. He started work with the Theis lab in the summer of 2019 and is interested in the application and engineering of an MRI systems utilizing SABRE techniques in vivo.

 

Keilian Maccullochkjmaccul@ncsu.edu

Keilian’s undergraduate research was focused on developing polymer stabilized iron phosphine complexes for the purification of natural gas, under the supervision of Dr. Joel Gohdes.He graduated in 2019 from Pacific University with a B.S. in chemistry and a minor in biology. Keilian joined the Theis group in October of 2019 where he applies the theory of spin dynamics to develop inexpensive and sensitive MRI technologies.

Undergraduate Students

 

Max Boultonmcboulto@ncsu.edu

 

Samantha Meiselsrmeisel@ncsu.edu

 

 

Hiromu Koyamahkoyama@ncsu.edu

 

Seth Dildaysadilday@ncsu.edu

 

Former Students

Chelsea Yang, now at UC Berkeley

Qijun Wang, now Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China

Join us!
Postdoctoral, PhD and undergraduate positions available.
email:    ttheis@ncsu.edu